The truth about my weight loss

It’s been a year, give or take, since I started losing weight. I was going to write this post at -40 pounds, but life got in the way. Then I thought I’d wait until -50 pounds, but since we’re at the one-year mark, I’m writing it at -47 pounds.

Below we have me with Jen Lancaster (whose book “Such a Pretty Fat” helped get me motivated to get off my fat ass) in May 2008 and me yesterday at my parents’ house.

I’m not going to lie, it’s been difficult. Very difficult. I’ve fallen off the exercise wagon a few times (quite recently, actually, but I’ve hopped back on), fallen off the healthy food wagon … but nobody’s perfect. I eventually get pissed at myself for being lazy and get back into the swing of things.

Just about everyone I know has been extremely supportive, and even people I only know through the interwebs have been supportive, which has really helped me keep at it. Especially during those times when I get so frustrated because WHY DID MY BOOBS ABANDON SHIP SO QUICKLY AND MY ASS AND THIGHS WON’T GO AWAY?

What’s been really interesting though is trying to make people understand WHY I’m losing weight. Co-workers, friends, even family had their … theories. Incorrect theories. Hurtful, are-you-kidding-me, have-you-ever-fucking-MET-me? theories.

The real reason?

For starters, my back hurt all the time. I couldn’t stand the heat because I overheated way too easily. I got winded very fast playing with the dog. Even the thought of taking a walk made me tired.

And then there was trying to find clothes. I can’t even begin to guess how many times I sat in a dressing room (or on a bench in the middle of a mall) and bawled my eyes out because I couldn’t find an outfit or even a new shirt for some event. And I couldn’t just walk into any store at the mall to look for said non-existent outfit. Most stores’ sizes didn’t go high enough.

Have you ever curled up on the bench in a Wal-Mart dressing room and cried because you couldn’t find a dress, or even slacks and a blouse, that were even the tiniest bit flattering? Like I said, I have. And I got tired of it.

I got tired of all of it. The back pain, not being able to play with the dog for very long, the special clothing stores, the MISERY.

Is that so hard to understand? I don’t think so. But I’m pretty sure there are still people who don’t believe my reasons, and you know what? Fuck ’em.

Tags:

7 Responses to “The truth about my weight loss”

  1. Weight Loss » Blog Archive » The truth about my weight loss Says:

    […] Original post by Purple Melange […]

  2. Bailey Shoe Says:

    Dani, you look gorgeous! But of course, you didn’t need me to tell you that. And as for your reasons, anybody who comes up with something stupid can just be ignored. If you’re feeling better, that’s all that matters in the end. Like you said, fuck ’em. 🙂
    We definitely need to go for coffee soon!

  3. Dani Says:

    Aw, thanks! It’s nice to hear though; positive reinforcement and all that.

    I just do my best to ignore stupidity, which, as we both know, can be difficult since it’s everywhere.

    Coffee soon, yes. Yes yes yes. I’ll bug you later!

  4. Jenn Says:

    So proud of you and you look AMAZING!!!! My mentor!!!! My motivator!!!! My cruise partner!!!!!

  5. Dani Says:

    Thank you, dearest! I’ll try to live up to your expectations!

  6. Beth Says:

    Girl, you look fan-fuckin’-tastic! Who cares what anyone else thinks? As long as things make sense to you, it’s all good. Jealousy makes people (family included) say some pretty mean, misguided things. What can you do? Oh wait, I know what you can do… Enjoy your new clothes and your fit body. Good on ya!

  7. Dani Says:

    Thank you! I think jealousy did play a part in some of it, which is just pathetic beyond words.

Leave a Reply

